Financial Aid

Graduate Assistantships

The Department is able to provide graduate assistantships for the majority of incoming Ph.D. students. Both teaching and research assistantships are available. Research assistantships are funded through faculty research grants. Selection for assistantships is based on merit rather than need. For incoming students, all information included in the application is utilized in ranking students for priority in awarding assistantships.

  • Graduate assistantships include both a stipend and a tuition waiver.
  • Graduate assistantships are available for a maximum of five years of study in the PhD program.
  • Applicants to the Ph.D. program who wish to be considered for a graduate assistantship should indicate this on their application. Students will be notified directly by the department if an admissions offer includes an assistantship. Occasionally a waitlist is created for financial aid. Students will be notified if they are the wait list.
  • Graduate assistantships are not normally available to students in the Masters program.


Need-Based Financial Aid

Domestic students are encouraged to apply for need-based Financial Aid through the Office of Student Financial Aid Services.

Graduate Fellowships

Merit-based fellowships are also available from a variety of sources  each year. The amount of these awards varies. For incoming students, fellowship awards are included in the funding decision and indicated in the offer for admission. For continuing students, fellowships are awarded each spring.

  • Predoctoral Fellowships. These fellowships are awarded annually to students based on academic performance or potential.
  • Doctoral Dissertation Fellowships. These fellowships are designed to assist advanced Ph.D. students in completing their dissertations. Students receiving this award are usually in their 5th year.
  • CLAS and MacKinnon Fellowships. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences periodically awards these fellowships to outstanding Ph.D. students.
  • Best Third Year Research Paper. This award is given each year to the  student  who completes the best Third Year Paper.
  • Economics  Research Fellowships. These departmental awards encourage collaborative research efforts between students and faculty, and among students. These awards are typically given during the summer.


Annual Awards

The department recognizes outstanding graduate students through a number of awards each year, including those presented at the Annual Awards Banquet each April. These awards are given to outstanding students who meet the criteria for each award. The amount of each award varies  yearly.

  • W. Harrison Carter Award. This award is given to recognize a student’s excellence in teaching.
  • Abraham Ribicoff Award. The Ribicoff award is given to a Connecticut resident with a strong academic record and an interest in the application of economic analysis to the formulation and implementation of state and national economic policies.
  • Albert E. Waugh Scholarship. This  award is given to a student interested in pursuing a career in teaching economics.
  • Timothy A. and Beverly C. Holt Award. This award is based upon academic excellence and financial need.
  • Eleanor Bloom Trust Fund. This award is given to assist with summer research.
  • Economics Department Graduate Award. This award is given to students who demonstrate academic excellence.
  • Economics Department Scholarship. This scholarship is utilized  to recognize outstanding achievement.